Back to School | DETTOL® Health For More
Breadcrumbs

Back to School

At this time of year, many children are either returning to school, or starting their school life for the first time. Help to reduce the amount of time your child is off ill by teaching them good hygiene practices and ensuring they have a healthy, balanced diet.

Families often see an increase in common colds and diarrhoeal disease upon a child’s return to school. Although vaccinations can protect your child from some serious diseases such as tetanus, diphtheria and whooping cough, we do not have vaccines to protect children from every type of infection. Helping your child to understand good hygiene practices will help them keep germs at bay and prevent infections.

Washing Hands

  • Thorough hand washing is one of the best ways to stop germs from spreading and causing tummy upsets and other infections. Teach your child how and when to wash their hands (for at least 20 seconds).
  • Remind children to wash their hands throughout the day, especially after using the toilet, before eating, playing outside, and if their hands look dirty. Teach children to cover their mouth and nose with a tissue when coughing or sneezing, and to throw it in a bin after use, before washing their hands.
  • Make handwashing fun by downloading a handwashing poster to read together and hang by your bathroom sink, or sing a song whilst you’re washing hands.

Learn more

Healthy Diet

  • Provide your child with a varied and balanced diet, to help protect their health and promote proper growth and development, and concentration during lessons.
  • Packed lunches should provide a variety of food in the correct proportions from the four main food groups (fruit and vegetables; bread, rice, potatoes, pasta and other starchy foods; milk and dairy foods; and meat, fish, eggs, beans and other non-dairy sources of protein).There should be a minimum of food and drinks high in fat or sugar, such as chocolate, crisps, cakes and biscuits. When preparing a packed lunch:
    • Wash and dry your hands before you start.
    • Clean and disinfect the kitchen work surfaces.
    • Use an airtight, rigid lunch box that you wash and dry before and after use.
    • Check all food is within its use-by or best-before date.
    • Use separate chopping boards and knives to prepare ready-to-eat and cooked foods separately from raw foods.
    • Wash fruit, salad and vegetables thoroughly.
    • Freshly prepare food each day. Less storage time gives less opportunity for germs to grow.
  • Plenty of water is a healthier choice than soft drinks that can be high in sugar, sweeteners, additives and even caffeine. Even slight dehydration can lead to poor concentration, lethargy, irritability and headaches.
  • If your child has a school meal, talk to them about making healthy choices in terms of balance, variety and nutrition.

 

Safety Issues

  • As strong sunlight can easily burn and damage young skin, provide your child with a broad-brimmed sunhat and clothing that protects their shoulders in hot weather. Use sunscreen with a minimum protection factor of 15.
  • Teach your child the correct way to safely cross the road.
  • Ensure that your child knows how to cycle safely before letting them ride to school on their own or with friends.
  • Children who travel by car must use a child restraint (i.e. car seat, booster seat or booster cushion) that is appropriate for their height and weight. If your child travels by bus, ensure they know how to fasten the seatbelt.
  • Teach your child what is meant by talking to strangers and who they are allowed to go with after school.

 

Medication and Illness

  • If your child has an ongoing medical condition that requires ongoing support from their school, you must provide the school with information that allows the school to provide for your child’s needs.
  • Medicines should only be taken to school when absolutely necessary. If your child has to take medicines during the school day, ask the pharmacist if they will provide this dose in a properly labelled container that can be kept in school.
  • If your child is acutely unwell, keep them away from school until they are well enough to return. Children should only attend school if they are well enough to benefit and participate, and not spread their germs or infection.
  • Some particular infections, such as chickenpox, mean that your child must stay away for a specified period.
  • For diarrhoea and vomiting, your child should remain at home until 48 hours after the last episode. Children should not swim for two weeks after having diarrhoea.

عودة إلى المدرسة | ديتول®
Breadcrumbs

عودة إلى المدرسة

عودة إلى المدرسة

في هذا الوقت من العام، إما يعود الكثير من الأطفال إلى المدرسة أو يبدأون حياة المدرسة لأول مرة. يمكنك تقليل الفترة التي يبتعد فيها الطفل عن المدرسة بسبب المرض عن طريق تعليمهم ممارسات النظافة الجيدة والتأكد من حصولهم على نظام غذائي صحي متوازن.

كثيرًا ما تلاحظ الأسر زيادة في إصابات البرد الشائعة والأمراض التي يصاحبها إسهال عند عودة الطفل إلى المدرسة. على الرغم من أن التطعيمات من شأنها حماية طفلك من بعض الأمراض الخطيرة مثل التيتانوس والدفتيريا والسعال الديكي، لا يوجد لقاح لحماية الأطفال من كل نوع من أنواع العدوى. إن مساعدة طفلك على فهم ممارسات النظافة الجيدة سيساعد على حمايته من الجراثيم والوقاية من العدوى.

غسل اليدين

  • غسل اليدين جيدًا إحدى أفضل الوسائل لمنع الجراثيم من الانتشار والتسبب في اضطراب بالمعدة وغيرها من العدوى. علم طفلك كيفية ووقت غسل اليدين (لمدة 20 ثانية على الأقل).
  • ذكر أطفالك بغسل أيديهم على مدار اليوم، خاصة بعد استخدام المرحاض وقبل تناول الغذاء واللعب خارج المنزل وإذا كانت أيديهم تبدو قذرة. علم أطفالك أن يغطوا الفم والأنف بمنديل عند الكحة أو العطس ثم إلقاء المنديل في سلة مهملات بعد الاستخدام، قبل غسل أيديهم.
  • اجعل غسل اليدين أمرًا مسليًا عن طريق تحميل ملصقات عن غسل اليدين لقراءتها معًا وعلقها بجانب حوض الحمام في منزلك أو غن أغنية أثناء غسل اليدين.

اعرف المزيد

نظام غذائي صحي

  • زود طفلك بنظام غذائي متنوع ومتوازن للمساعدة على حماية صحته ودعم نموه وتطوره السليم وتركيزه أثناء الحصص.
  • ينبغي أن تقدم وجبة الغذاء المعدة غذاءًا متنوعًا بالكميات الصحيحة من المجموعات الغذائية الأربع الرئيسية (فاكهة وخضراوات وعيش وأرز وبطاطس ومكرونة وغيرها من الأغذية النشوية ولبن ومنتجات ألبان ولحوم وأسماك وبيض وبقوليات ومصادر أخرى للبروتين غير منتجات الألبان). ينبغي أن يكون هناك حد أدنى من الأغذية والمشروبات التي تحتوي على نسب عالية من الدهون والسكريات مثل الشوكولاتة ورقائق البطاطس والكيك والبسكويت. عند إعداد وجبة غذاء:
    • اغسل يديك وجففهما قبل البدء.
    • نظف أسطح العمل بالمطبخ وطهرها.
    • استخدم صندوق محكم الغلق ومتين واغسل يديك وجففهما قبل الاستخدام وبعده.
    • تأكد أن كل الغذاء في فترة تاريخ الاستخدام أو الأفضل أن يكون قبل تاريخ الانتهاء.
    • استخدم ألواح تقطيع وسكاكين لإعداد الغذاء الجاهز للأكل والأغذية المطهية مختلفة عن تلك المستخدمة مع الأغذية النيئة.
    • اغسل الفاكهة والسلطة والخضراوات جيدًا.
    • قم بإعداد الغذاء طازجًا كل يوم. إن التخزين لوقت اقل يعطي فرصة أقل لنمو الجراثيم.
  • شرب الكثير من المياة يعتبر صحيًا أكثر من شرب المشروبات الخفيفة التي قد تحتوي على نسب عالية من السكر ومواد التحلية والإضافات وحتى الكافيين. إن نسبة بسيطة من الجفاف قد يؤدي إلى تركيز أقل وفتور وتهيج وصداع.
  • إذا كان لطفلك وجبة مدرسية، تحدث إليه بشأن اختيار غذاء صحي من حيث التوازن والتنوع والتغذية.

 

نصائح متعلقة بالسلامة

  • نظرًا لأن ضوء الشمس القوي ممكن أن يحرق جلدك ويدمره بسهولة، اعط طفلك قبعة شمس ذات حواف عريضة وملابس تحمي كتفيه في الجو الحار. استخدم واقي من الشمس ذي معامل حماية 15 على الأقل.
  • علم طفلك الطريقة الصحيحة لعبور الطريق.
  • تأكد من معرفة طفلك لركوب الدراجة بأمان قبل السماح له بركوبها للذهاب إلى المدرسة وحده أو مع أصدقاء.
  • يجب أن يستخدم الأطفال الذين يسافرون بالسيارة أداة لتأمين سلامة الطفل (أي حزام السيارة أو مقعد داعم أو مسند داعم) مناسب لطولهم وعرضهم. إذا كان طفلك يسافر بالحافلة، تأكد من معرفته كيفية ربط حزام المقعد.
  • علم طفلك معنى أن يتحدثوا إلى أشخاص أجنبية ومن هم المسموح له بالذهاب معهم بعد المدرسة.

 

الدواء والمرض

  • إذا كان طفلك يعاني من حالة صحية مزمنة تحتاج إلى دعم مستمر من مدرسته، يجب إخبار المدرسة بالمعلومات التي تسمح للمدرسة بتوفير احتياجات الطفل.
  • ينبغي أن تؤخذ الأدوية إلى المدرسة فقط في حالة الضرورة القصوى. إذا كان من الضروري أن يأخذ طفلك الأدوية أثناء اليوم الدراسي، اطلبي من الصيدلي توفير الجرعة في وعاء عليه علامة بصورة مناسبة يمكن الاحتفاظ بها في المدرسة.
  • إذا كان طفلك مريضًا بشدة، ابعده عن المدرسة حتى يتحسن بصورة كافية ليعود إلى المدرسة. ينبغي أن يذهب الأطفال إلى المدرسة فقط إذا كانوا أصحاء بصورة كافية للاستفادة والمشاركة وليس لنشر الجراثيم أو العدوى.
  • بعض العدوى المحددة، مثل الجدري، تشير إلى ضرورة بقاء طفلك بعيدًا لفترة محددة من الوقت.
  • بالنسبة للإسهال والقيئ، ينبغي أن يمكث طفلك بالمنزل حتى 48 ساعة بعد آخر مرة إسهال أو قيئ. لا ينبغي أن يسبح الأطفال لمدة أسبوعين بعد الإصابة بالإسهال.